Meet the Board

Serving as a member of the Wooster Volunteer Network Board requires a weekly time commitment. WVN Board members take on various roles including:

  • linking with community agencies to identify service needs that exist in the community
  • maintaining a database and information about students who want to volunteer
  • encouraging students to consider volunteerism as part of their educational experience
  • planning and participating in campus-wide volunteer activities
  • providing a funding process and a means of transportation for all volunteer groups on campus

Oriana Freeman (ofreeman19@wooster.edu): Co-President

My name is Oriana Freeman and I am a senior Psychology major from Golden Valley, Minnesota. Outside of WVN I am a member of the Ultimate Frisbee team and work at the Nursery School. I love spending time outdoors and with friends. I volunteer because its a great way to see the world from new perspectives and to give back to the community at the same time.

 

Abby Dean (adean19@wooster.edu): Co-President

My name is Abby Dean and I am senior Political Science major, Spanish and Latin American Studies minor from Kent, Ohio. Apart from my role on WVN, I am an English Language Learning Peer Tutor and a member of the Spanish Suite. I volunteer because I believe that serving your own community is essential to building lasting relationships and creating a culture that values service. We only live in Wooster for four years, but as members of this community, we should serve it to the best of our abilities. On the WVN board, I am the Co-President, so contact me about how we can help connect you to service opportunities!

 

Lydia Barr (lbarr19@wooster.edu): Treasurer

My name is Lydia Barr and I am a senior English major from Rockville, MD.I am currently the treasurer of WVN and have previously worked with the service houses. I enjoy volunteering with others because it is a great way to get to know the Wooster community outside of the campus bubble.

 

Koral Kasnyik (kkasnyik20@wooster.edu)

Hi my name is Koral Kasnyik, and I am a junior Biochemistry and Molecule Biology major from Oberlin, Ohio. I do research on campus (with flies!) and am Vice President of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology club. I am also pre-med, so I spend most of my time as a Health Coach or volunteering at the community hospital in the oncology unit. It is so rewarding to play a role in directly helping patients and building connections in the community. On the WVN executive board, I help student organizations to find community partners and ways to incorporate volunteering into their groups.

 

Maha Rashid (mrashid19@wooster.edu)

My name is Maha Rashid and I am a senior Neuroscience major. I am from Medina, OH. I am IGC president as well as President of Nu Rho Psi. I am a member of the Neuroscience club, as well as the Moot Court team. I really enjoy volunteering with communities that allow me to step outside of my comfort zone. I volunteer because I value the ability to learn from other people who have different experiences than me. Being in a humble role as a volunteer truly allows you to expose yourself to those scenarios. On WVN board I act as the service trip coordinator and Greek life liaison.

 

Rie Matsuzaki (rmatsuzaki19@wooster.edu)

I’m Rie from Japan. I am a neurobiology major interested in mechanism behind emotions. I love to sing with Wooster Chorus and eat with Let’s Taco Bout Food! I enjoy volunteering with nature, animal and food. I plan events on this committee 🙂

 

 

Lily Walters (lwalters21@wooster.edu)

Hello! My name is Lily Walters. I am a sophomore history major and education minor. I am from Chicago, Illinois. I am a part of Pi Kappa Peanuts and the Frisbee team. I mainly volunteer with children and people in poverty. It is so amazing to see the difference that you can bring to someone’s day and being a connection for the college and the community. On the board, I help plan Service Saturdays and run social media.

 

Mili Barai (mbarai21@wooster.edu)

My name is Mili Barai, I am a sophomore, physics major from Gujarat, India. I am a part of the Astronomy club, Physics club and the South Asia Committee here on campus. I like to volunteer with kids and old people because interacting with them, hearing their stories, teaching them and seeing a smile on their faces give a big sense of satisfaction to me. I am in-charge of Service Saturdays and on-campus networking on the board!

 

Wyatt Brugge (wbrugge21@wooster.edu)

Hello there! So my name’s Wyatt and I’m focused on studying English. I’m on the tennis team and actively participate in Woo91. I’m into service trips, and organizing service trips is my main role on WVN. I volunteer to help people in need of some assistance, in order to better our world as a whole.

 

Alayt Issak (aissak21@wooster.edu)

My names is Alayt Issak and I am a bilingual international student from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia on the Pre-Architecture track pursuing a Mathematics and Studio Art double major. Outside academics, I primarily devote my time to three co-curricular activities: Vegan Club (Vice President), African Students Union (Public Relations), and Wooster Volunteer Network. I volunteer because I aim to make “education” holistic, that is, drawn not only from knowledge in the classroom but also from the occurrences of everyday life.

 

Cyd Hall (chall21@wooster.edu)

I am Cyd Hall and I’m a sophomore sociology major from southeast Michigan. I am also a member of the Black Students Association executive board, delta theta psi sorority, and an Allen Scholar. My volunteering experience is widely ranged but I am most interested in youth enrichment in urban settings and working with the elderly. I volunteer because I feel is my humanitarian duty, I learn about the world around me, better myself, and it fulfills me. For WVN I work in off-campus networking and events.

 

Nate Addington, Director of Civic and Social Responsibility (naddington@wooster.edu): Advisor

Nate Addington serves as The College of Wooster’s Director of Civic and Social Responsibility. Throughout his career Nate has been interested in what motivates people from different backgrounds and identities to come together in community. Specifically, he loves exploring how he, and the students he works with, can be intentional in helping those communities move forward towards a sense of equity and justice. He has particular interests in creating long term partnerships in the local community, while also wrestling with larger issues; such as international immigration policy and reform. This latter passion often reveals itself in the various service and immersion trips he has facilitated in Central America since 2006.